How did my facebook account get deleted?
- Facebook will permanently delete an account if the owner has violated their Terms of Service too many times.
- Or requests to be deleted.
- If the account holder requests deletion after posting unacceptable content.
- Facebook would normally give them a chance to take it back.
I tried to delete my Facebook account after I read the Cambridge Analytica scandal article. It was public in which they used a Facebook app that collected millions of people’s profile information by paying them to take a quiz. They ended up stealing all of their friends’ data as well, and selling it for profit. This exposed the vulnerability in our social media networks and brought about awareness on how much control we really have over our own personal data!
But when I tried to delete my account, I got this message:
“Your account’s content is currently hidden from other users as it violates our community standards. All of your personal information was also deleted. If you do not appear on Facebook for seven days, your profile will be permanently removed.”
When I saw the word “permanently,” that scared me. So I ended up hiding my timeline (it doesn’t delete anything), and then proceeded to listen to a CNET podcast about ways to beefed up your privacy! That’s how much interest there is in deleting our accounts right now! People are getting creative about keeping their information private, some people even called Mark himself out for “selling his users privacy.”
In fact, Mark Zuckerberg was summoned to Congress on April 10 and 11 to testify about Facebook’s role in the Cambridge Analytica scandal. He also apologized for how he handled things from the beginning. His testimony can be seen here: https://www.c-span.org/video/?c4761281/mark-zuckerberg
According to several news reports, Facebook is expected to lose $35 billion in market value this week because of declining user confidence! A lot of people got tired of Facebook after seeing that it was a breach of trust between corporations and their users… So lets take a look at ways we can keep our personal information private or use them for good!
When you are logged into Facebook, go to the link “Account Settings” and choose the “General Account Settings”. A new tab will open where there is a section called “Download a copy of your Facebook data “. From here click on this option and then select friends/message/post checkboxes. Now click on “Start my archive” button at the bottom of your screen. Wait for some time while Facebook archives all your data. When it is complete, you will get an email with download links of .zip file containing your account data saved by Facebook. Download this file and store it in one place that is accessible easily from anywhere. The zip folder contains everything related to deleted or lost account such as photos, videos, messages etc., so be careful while extracting. Once the download is complete, unzip the folder and store it on your computer. The next step is to visit https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and log in using your email ID and password, if you are successfully logged in then a screen will appear that says “Sorry Facebook not right for you?”. From here go to “Delete my account” section at the bottom of this page and click on the “Delete My Account” button. Now an alert message will appear with options such as, “You have deactivated your account”, “You have deleted your account”, click on Delete my account option which will redirect you to another screen where there is a link saying delete confirmation . Click on this link and your Facebook account will be deleted immediately.
Advantage: It helps you to have back the space in your mailbox where all messages that are stored on facebook but now you don’t want to read those mails, so it is best way to get rid of them forever.
Whatever data we share with any person or organization online, can be accessed by other people or organizations also; so when you delete account permanently because some time there is chance that these unwanted people can hack your emails and take advantage of them for their own purposes like evil intention etc. So it is advised not to share important information on any website including Facebook Also if there is any kind of harassment from others then they may use your.
Why would my Facebook account disappeared?
If you do not know why your account was deleted or disabled, then it is necessary to submit an appeal so that the Facebook team will review the issue.
Do Facebook accounts ever get deleted?
If you want to deactivate your Facebook account, you can’t do it by forgetting about it. This has to be done within the Account Settings page on Facebook. Once deactivated, your account cannot be reinstated and any content including Timeline posts will also be deleted permanently.
How can I recover my deleted Facebook account?
Navigate to Facebook in your Web browser.
Enter the email address and password associated with your deleted account.
Click “Login.” Your account has been reactivated.